Skip to content

Pre-crisis Psychological Management: Building Resilience

Difficulties and crises may happen in any work settings. Residential care homes for elderly persons are no exception. If organisations could better equip their staff in coping with critical incidents at ordinary times, they would stand a better chance of cutting down crises-related losses. Crises may even become blessings in disguise, through which organisational staff could develop higher morale and team spirit. Just as you would work out physically to boost your immune system, you also need to cultivate and build up resilience of your staff in order to safeguard their mental health and productivity.

What is resilience?

Resilience is the ability to physically and psychologically cope with, and to recover from, life adversities. It relates to the way people think and behave in response to these events. For instance, when there is a problem, would you face it squarely or would you just avoid it? Resilience is not something people are born with. If you find yourself lacking in resilience, you may develop and strengthen it through learning.

Why do we need resilience?

  • It motivates people to solve problems proactively even in adverse situations, and to recover faster afterwards.
  • In the midst of crises, employees who are trained in resilience have less anxiety, depression and stress related symptoms. Their job satisfaction and morale actually increase in the post-crisis period.
  • For the soon-to-retire and retirees, those who are more resilient require less medical services and rate their health more positively.

How do we build and enhance resilience?

Resilience is characterised by a healthy mindset and a whole host of life skills. You may think of it as a tool box, containing tools that you can count on to survive difficulties. These tools include:

  1. Stay positive
  2. Regulate your emotions
  3. Have a moral compass
  4. Nurture spirituality
  5. Get social support
  6. Find role models of resilience
  7. Stay healthy
  8. Practise lifelong learning and flexibility
  9. Derive meaning from experiences
  10. Be compassionate to yourself

1. Stay positive

Being optimistic means cherishing what you have, whereas focusing on what you do not have makes you pessimistic. While resilient people are not free from negative emotions or thoughts, they are more able to employ appropriate coping skills to navigate through difficult times.

You might be stuck in your circumstances, but you do have a choice as to how you would face it, which in turn affects your mood and behaviours. Pessimists tend to blame themselves and view failures as pervasive and perpetual. As a result, they often find it difficult to let go and move on. On the contrary, optimistic people take setbacks as a part of life, and tend to pick themselves up rather than pick on themselves. They will acknowledge their own efforts instead of ruminating over failures. That is why they can readily find ways to improve and try again, or move forward to work towards new goals.

2. Regulate your emotions

How to handle conflicts? The first thing is to keep calm and avoid getting too emotional. Then communicate skilfully to give the conflict a constructive turn, one that allows collaboration.

  • Be aware of mind-body signals such as racing heart, muscle tension, sweating, and labile emotions
  • Stay calm, practise deep breathing
  • Time out from the scene
  • Change your focus to “What are my goals or expectations at this point of time?” “How can I accomplish these goals?”
  • Resume the conversation once you have calmed down, try to take each other’s perspective in the process, and strive to reach some consensus and solve problems

3. Have a moral compass

With clear principles and moral values, you will be less likely to get lost when facing adversities. Mottos such as no pain no gain, failure teaches success, silence is golden, etc. will allow you to take unwavering steps amidst challenges. Being considerate towards others may also help motivate you to face difficult situations. For instance, the love and commitment for your beloved family gives you strength to take good care of yourself, to persevere even when hardships come your way.

4. Nurture spirituality

Spirituality (including but not limited to religion, finding peace of mind in nature, reflecting on and finding meaning in life) gives people hope, consolation and the ability to face adversities. Try the following and start nurturing your spirituality:

  • Reflect on your life experiences and make meaning from them
  • Practise mindful breathing and immerse yourself in the power of life
  • Dive into nature and have a good period of quiet time for yourself

5. Get social support

Social engagement is one of the pillars of resilience, so it is important to stay connected with family and friends. People with substantial social support live a happier and healthier life than those who are isolated. Do you have family and friends that you can count on? Remember, relationships flourish on two-way roads. So think about how you can go an extra mile in nurturing your current relationships, or in forming new ones.

6. Find role models of resilience

Resilient people tend to have role models who are resilient too. Do you know people whom you have come to respect for their having overcome hardships in lives? If you have problem finding such people around you, read up the biographies of historic or public figures who have made their way through adversities. You may benefit from it.

7. Stay healthy

Healthy lifestyle such as regular physical activities, a balanced diet, adequate sleep and rest, and abstinence from tobacco and alcohol will help keep you physically and emotionally fit. Committed practice of relaxation exercises such as diaphragmatic breathing and progressive muscle relaxation can help improve mental health and maintain a sharp mind.

8. Practise lifelong learning and flexibility

Research points out that lifelong learning is positively associated with an individual's health, self-esteem, life meaning and social engagement. It is possible to see difficulties as opportunities for learning how to regulate your emotions, solve problems, communicate well with others, grow your creativity, and other necessary coping skills. Learning such ways of adjusting your mindset when you face different situations can help nurture your resilience.

9. Derive meaning from experiences

In times of significant life adversity, it is perfectly normal to feel confused, frustrated and pain. However, if you do not give up, with time you may gain some insight and personal growth from these difficulties. Someday, you may even realise the actual meaning behind the experience.

10. Be compassionate to yourself

It is a misconception that being harsh and critical towards yourself is the only way to grow and develop. The fact is, you need a little love and compassion for yourself especially when hard pressed by circumstances. Try to find time and sit quietly by yourself, tune in slowly to your bodily sensations and your feelings. You may acknowledge that it is only human to experience ups and downs, and that failures and struggles are an inevitable part of life. Accept yourself as you are and whatever it is you are experiencing, be it success or failure, happiness or sadness. By being compassionate to yourself, you will notice that you are more able to face the troubles in life.

Skip to content

危機前的裝備:提升抗逆力

沒有人希望遇到困難與危機,但也沒有人能保證不會遇上。與其臨渴掘井,不如平日好好裝備自己,學習如何應付,一旦遇上危機事件,也不至於拖垮自己,甚至能轉危為機,讓身心靈得到歷練而成長和變得豐盛。正如為身體健康著想你可能會多鍛煉以增強抵抗力;為了精神健康和更有能力應對逆境,你需要提升抗逆力。

甚麼是抗逆力?

抗逆力泛指人們面對逆境時的能力,和經歷逆境後身心恢復過來的能力。它關乎個人的思想與行為模式,例如當問題來了,你會選擇積極面對或逃避現實呢?抗逆力並非某些人獨有,若你自覺沒有足夠的抗逆力,可以透過學習來培育、建立和加強這方面的特質。

為何需要有抗逆力?

  • 抗逆力讓人在逆境時能積極地克服困難,並在經歷逆境後恢復過來
  • 當危機發生時,曾接受抗逆力訓練的員工,他們的焦慮、抑鬱及其他壓力有關的症狀較輕;危機過後,他們的工作滿足感及士氣則反而得到提升
  • 抗逆力較高的準退休人士及已退休人士,較少需要醫療服務且自評健康較佳

怎樣才可增強抗逆力?

抗逆力其實匯集了不同的人生態度和生活技能,有如一個實用的工具箱,你可運用其中的工具去渡過困境。它們包括……

  1. 保持樂觀、正向思維
  2. 情緒管理
  3. 明確的道德標準
  4. 培養靈性生活
  5. 社交支援
  6. 學習榜樣
  7. 維持強健體魄
  8. 終身學習、靈活應變
  9. 尋找和塑造意義
  10. 善待自己

1. 保持樂觀、正向思維

樂觀的人珍惜自己擁有的,悲觀的人卻只看到自己缺少甚麼。抗逆力高的人並非不會出現負面情緒或思想,但他們往往能在逆境中利用適切的應對方法和技巧,以致成功渡過。

你或許沒有自由選擇處境,但卻有自由選擇心境。原來一個人怎樣看待挫折失意,會影響心情和行為,例如悲觀者傾向將過錯歸咎於自己、將一次失誤看作人生全部,以致挫敗後變得一蹶不振。相反,樂觀者會肯定自己的努力,再接再厲、找出改善方法或轉移目標,不會事事歸咎自己或將失敗無限放大,挫敗後也較容易重新振作。

2. 情緒管理

遇上衝突時應如何處理呢?首先必須要保持冷靜,避免情緒化,運用溝通技巧,把衝突轉化成有建設性的協商過程:

  • 留意身心警號,例如心跳加速、肌肉繃緊、手心冒汗、情緒激動
  • 保持冷靜、深呼吸
  • 暫離現場
  • 改變焦點,轉想「這刻我有甚麼目標或期望?」「我怎樣才可以達到目標?」
  • 冷靜下來,才開始或繼續對話,過程中應易地而處,彼此體諒,以尋求共識解決問題

3. 明確的道德標準

待人處事,持守清晰的原則、是非觀念,面對不同處境也就比較不易動搖,例如懷著「一分耕耘,一分收獲」、「失敗乃成功之母」、「沉默是金」等信念,有助困境中前行。學習適度地為他人設想,重視他人的利益,也是面對逆境的原動力。例如為免家人憂心,就算面對困難也儘量好好照顧自己,不會自暴自棄。

4. 培養靈性生活

靈性生活 (包括但不限於宗教生活、親近大自然安靜心靈、反思生命的意義等等)能給予人盼望、安慰和面對逆境的能力。不妨嘗試以下方法,滋養你的心靈:

  • 回顧過去的人生經歷,發掘當中的意義
  • 運用覺察呼吸,感悟生命力量
  • 親親大自然,在其中安靜自己

5. 社交支援

社交支援包括家庭及朋友關係,有充實社交生活的人較孤立的人快樂、健康、睡得好,所以健康社交網絡是抗逆力的重要元素。你有可靠的家人朋友嗎?關係是靠雙方用心經營的,你又如何為彼此關係多行一步?

6. 學習榜樣

抗逆力高的人身邊通常有他們欣賞和樂意效法的對象。想一想,你認識在逆境中自強不息、令你敬佩的人嗎?如果身邊沒有這樣的人,參考歷史人物或社會知名人士面對困難的經驗也會有所幫助。

7. 維持強健體魄、正向情緒

健康生活模式如經常運動、均衡飲食、充足睡眠和休息、不吸煙、不喝酒等,有助保持身體健康和改善情緒。恆常進行身心鬆弛練習(例如腹式呼吸),可以改善精神健康,保持頭腦靈活。

8. 終身學習、靈活應變

研究指出終身學習和個人健康、自尊、人生意義、社交生活等方面有正面關係。不妨視困境為磨練,主動學習適應技巧,例如怎樣調節情緒、解決問題、與人溝通、發揮創意等。當你嘗試根據不同的處境調整自己的思維和處事方式,便能提升抗逆力。

9. 尋找和塑造意義

面對很困難的境況,感到困惑、傷痛是正常不過的。但只要不放棄,你會漸漸在當中有一點反思、領悟、成長,甚或有一天發現這段經歷的真正意義。

10. 善待自己

一般人常誤以為對自己嚴苛一點,鞭策多一點,才會有進步。其實面對沉重壓力,更加需要好好愛惜和照顧自己。嘗試找個時間獨個兒安靜下來,留心一下自己的身體感覺和情緒,承認高低起跌都是人生的一部分,其他人也會經歷類似掙扎;接納自己的成敗得失和情緒反應。當你能給予自己愛護與鼓舞,便能更有力量面對困難。