Skip to content

Wound Care

Introduction

A wound refers to any breakage on the skin. If it is not treated properly, wound infection may result. Skin aging and some chronic diseases may also affect wound healing. Adequate knowledge of wound management is therefore very important.

Skin structure and function

Skin consists of epidermis, dermis and subcutaneous tissue. It has numerous functions include protection, sensation, regulation of body temperature, secretion, excretion, immunity and production of vitamin D.

Wound healing process

The wound healing process can be divided into inflammatory phase, proliferative phase and remodeling phase. The time taken for healing can be affected by both external and internal factors.

External factors include persistent pressure on the wound (which impairs circulation), repeated injuries, wound infection or improper wound care (e.g. misuse of antiseptics or dressing).

Internal factors include aging, chronic diseases like diabetes, long-term drug therapy, smoking and alcoholism (which impairs nutrient absorption).

All these factors may impair the immune system, making the wound more susceptible to infection which delays wound healing.

Classification and management of wounds

Acute wound: Acute wound refers to accidental skin injury, such as abrasion, cut, burn or scald. When the accident occurs, stay calm. Make a quick assessment to decide on the treatment according to the wound site and severity. For bleeding wound without foreign body, apply direct pressure on the wound for about 5-15 minutes to stop bleeding. Clean and dress the wound properly to prevent wound infection. If bleeding persists or if a foreign body is deeply seated in the wound (do not try to remove it as the bleeding may worsen), seek medical treatment immediately. For dirty wounds, especially if contaminated by mud or rust, anti-tetanus toxoid (ATT) injection should be given if none has been given before, or if given more than a decade ago. A full course of ATT comprises 3 injections and offers 10 years protection.
For burns and scald wound, cooling is the most important principle in management. The aim is to prevent the heat from spreading to the deeper layers of skin. Rinse the wound under cold running water for at least 10 minutes. Dress the wound with sterile and non-adhesive dressing. Seek hospital care if the condition is serious.
Chronic wound: Chronic wound refers to any wound which has remained unhealed for longer than 4 weeks, such as pressure sore or venous ulcer. The basic principle in chronic wound care is to keep the wound clean to prevent infection and promote healing. Regular aseptic wound dressing is crucial. The choice of dressing materials varies according to the wound's condition and it is better to follow the nurse instruction. To promote healing, other factors are also important, e.g. balanced diet for nutrition and appropriate exercise to promote circulation for wound healing.
Prevention and care of pressure sore Pressure sore, also known as bedsore, is common among the bedridden. It is caused by persistent pressure, friction and moisture. Prominent bony areas of the body are prone to bed-sore, such as sacrum, ankles, etc. In order to prevent bed sore, patients should increase activity and avoid prolonged staying in the same posture. Relatives can carry out passive exercise for the bedridden and assist in changing position regularly. It is crucial to avoid frictional injury to skin during position change, and pay attention to skin hygiene and wound cleansing. Apart from daily bathing and regular dressing, it is necessary to promptly change dirty and wet dressing, napkin, clothing and bedding. Adequate nutrition intake is also important to maintain healthy skin.

Principles of Wound Management

(1) Prevent infection - Apply strict aseptic technique in wound dressing. - Ensure sterile materials are being used.
(2) Promote wound healing - Avoid putting pressure on wound (such as too tight strapping, bandages or heavy blanket), as it may impair blood supply. - Assist the immobile or bed-ridden to change position regularly. - Maintain balanced diet.
(3) Minimize further damage - Avoid persistent pressure and friction on the wound. - Use hypoallergenic dressings if necessary.

Proper techniques in Wound Management

Information for home carers

Relatives can accompany the elder to nearby out-patient clinics for dressing as instructed by the doctor. For frail or immobile clients, they can apply for Community Nursing Service during follow-up consultations. Family member or carers should look out for signs and symptoms of wound infection (see below) and seek for early medical advice accordingly.

Proper techniques in Wound Management

Information for carers at home

Carers should follow advice from doctor and bring the elder to a nearby clinic for regular wound dressing. Frail elders or elders with mobility problem could apply for the Community Nursing Services through doctor's referral during follow up. Observe for signs and symptoms of infection (please refer to details on next page) and consult doctor if necessary.

Signs and Symptoms of Wound Infection

- Local signs of infection: pain, swelling, warmth, redness, smelly blood stained or cloudy secretion.
- General signs of infection: fever, chills and rigor, rapid respiration, rapid pulse, headache, nausea, anorexia and malaise. Seek medical attention if there is suspected wound infection and delayed wound healing.

Information for carers working in elderly home

Wound assessment, evaluation and documentation

The aim is prevent pressure sore, skin infection and monitor the wound condition. Health workers should regularly inspect the skin condition for high-risk residents (frail, immobile, incontinent and/or bed-ridden). Observation can be done during bathing, diaper changing, position turning and wound care by Community Nursing Service. Special attention should be paid to the prominent bony areas. If the skin is red or a blister is seen, do more frequent turning and give appropriate wound care. For wound assessment, the aspects to pay attention include the cause of the injury, medical history, wound location, wound condition (color, size, depth, secretion and infection), pain intensity and the patient's nutritional status. It is recommended to assess, evaluate and document weekly or every 2 weeks. If wound infection is observed, medical treatment should be sought as soon as possible.

Commonly used cleansing fluid and dressing

Normal Saline (0.9% NaCl) is a commonly used cleansing fluid. As it is similar to human body fluid, it does not irritate wound tissues and causes less pain when applied. Antiseptics may irritate the wound or cause allergic reaction.

Generally, non-infected wound could be cleansed by Normal Saline and antiseptics is not required. Infected wound must be managed according to doctor's instructions.

General dressings include:
- Gauze: can absorb secretion.
- Film dressings: transparent, permeable to gas and water vapour but not germs.
- Hydrocolloid dressings: help to remove slough and dead tissue; absorb secretion but does not cause over-drying, non-adhesive during removal; reduce the frequency of dressing.
- Antimicrobial dressings: kills germs and requires doctor's prescription.

Health workers must follow strict aseptic technique in wound cleansing

Preparation of environment, equipments, resident and carer

- Avoid dusting 2 hours before and during procedure.
- Adequate lighting.
- A clean dressing trolley (clean with detergent and water, then swab with 70% alcohol).
- Dressing materials (a disposable dressing set, additional swabs and gauzes, cleansing fluid, mask, gloves, surgical tape, bandage, scissors and a bag for rubbish).
- Position the resident and expose the wound; ensure privacy of resident.
- Wash hands thoroughly with soap.

Procedure of wound cleansing

- Open the sterile package and line up the plastic forceps.
- Pour adequate amount of cleansing solution into the container.
- Use a pair of forceps to remove the old dressing (if there are only two plastic forceps, remove the old dressing with a gloved hand).
- If the old dressing sticks tightly to the wound, soak the inner dressing with saline before removal.
- Discard the used forceps or glove.
- Use another 2 clean forceps for cleansing and dressing.
- Dip the swab into the solution and remove excessive solution by forceps or press it against the edge of container. Start wiping the wound from inside outwards, the swab should be used only once, repeat this step until the wound is clean.
- Pad the wound dry with gauze gently and cover it with suitable dressing.
- Secure the dressing with surgical tape or bandages.
- Never touch the wound or sterile gauze with hands to avoid contamination.

After care

- Discard everything in a plastic bag and tie it up securely before disposal.
- Wash hands thoroughly with soap.
- Document the wound condition in the resident's personal health record.

Please click here to watch the video on “Home Safety: Wound Care” (Cantonese voice-over with English Subtitles).

Please download text description here.

Skip to content

傷口的護理

引言

人體皮膚破損時就會形成傷口,若處理不當,便可能會受到細菌感染。皮膚的老化及慢性疾病亦會影響傷口的癒合,所以認識傷口的種類及正確處理傷口的方法十分重要。

皮膚的結構及功能

皮膚由表皮、真皮及皮下組織組成。具保護、感覺功能、調節體温、分泌、排泄、防疫及製造維生素D等功能。

傷口癒合的過程

傷口的癒合過程可分為發炎期、增生期及重整期3個階段。癒合的時間長短受多種因素影響,包括外在和內在因素。

外在因素: 傷口長期受壓(影響血液循環)、重複受損、受細菌感染或受到不當的處理(如使用無效的消毒劑或敷料)等,這些都會減慢傷口癒合的速度。
內在因素: 年老、疾病如糖尿病、長期使用藥物、不良生活習慣如吸煙(破壞血管)、酗酒(影響營養吸收)等,這些都能使免疫力下降,使傷口易受感染,影響癒合。

傷口的種類及護理方法

急性傷口: 急性傷口多由損傷引起,如擦傷、割傷、燒傷或燙傷等。當意外發生時,應保持鎮定,評估傷口的位置、其嚴重性及出血的情況,作出相應的處理。沒有異物的出血傷口,可以採用「直接壓法」,在傷口上直接施加壓力,維持約5-15分鐘,以制止傷口出血。然後清潔傷口並包紮妥當,以免傷口受到細菌感染。若止血無效或有異物藏於傷口深處,不要試圖取出異物,以免引致大量出血,應立即到急症室求醫。 如果傷口污穢,尤其染有泥濘或鐵銹等不潔物,而傷者從未接受過破傷風疫苗,或已接受疫苗注射超過10年者,便應接受破傷風疫苗注射。整個療程包括3次疫苗注射,完成療程後約有10年免疫能力。如果是燒傷或燙傷,處理原則應以降温為主,以免熱力擴散至皮膚深層,可以用清水沖洗至少10分鐘,然後再用消毒無黏性敷料包紮傷口。若情況嚴重,便應送院診冶。
慢性傷口: 指無法在4 個星期內癒合之傷口,如壓瘡和靜脈性潰瘍。慢性傷口需以無菌技術定時清潔,再以無菌(防敏感)敷料包紮,以免傷口受到感染,亦可加快癒合速度。傷口敷料之選擇需視乎傷口狀況及護士的指示而定。患者亦須保持均衡飲食(以攝取足夠營養),並做適量運動(以促進血液循環),以助傷口癒合。
壓瘡的預防及護理方法: 壓瘡,又稱褥瘡,常見於長期臥床者,是因為皮膚長期受壓、磨擦和潮濕所引起,多見於骨突處,如骶骨、足踝等,故處理原則是定時轉換姿勢,以減低傷口受壓。患者應避免長時間處於同一個姿勢,及增加活動,若患者活動能力有限,需由家人或照顧者代為轉換姿勢。注意避免磨擦皮膚,以減少皮膚受損。為了保持皮膚衞生和傷口清潔,患者要每天沐浴和清潔傷口,若衣物、床單弄濕了或敷料濕透時,便應立即更換。此外,攝取足夠營養以保持皮膚的健康也很重要。

護理傷口的原則

(1) 預防感染 保持傷口清潔,換症(洗傷口及換敷料)時須執行無菌技術,確保所用物料經過消毒殺菌程序。
(2) 促進痊癒 使用膠布或繃帶包紮時,不宜過緊,以免壓著傷口。如患者不便轉動,便要按時協助轉換位置,以免阻礙血流供應。注意均衡營養,有助傷口癒合。
(3) 減少傷害 避免傷口受到不必要的損傷,如受壓、磨擦或敷料敏感等。

護理傷口要點

家中護老者須知

- 護老者可按醫生的指示陪同長者到就近的診所換症,體弱或行動不便者可申請社康護理服務,詳情可在覆診時向醫生查詢和要求轉介。家人宜留意傷口有否被感染的徵狀,有需要時提早覆診。

傷口感染的症狀

局部症狀: 傷口有痛楚、紅腫、發熱、水狀滲出物、腐爛、異味、出血或含膿等情況。
全身性症狀: 發燒、震顫、呼吸和脈膊加速、頭痛、噁心、食慾不振或身體不適等。

如有以上問題出現,情況轉壞或傷口長期未能癒合時,應儘快求醫。

安老院舍員工須知

皮膚檢查與傷口評估及記錄

目的是為了預防壓瘡和避免皮膚感染。護理員應定期為體弱、行動不便、失禁或長期臥床的院友作皮膚檢查。護理員可於替院友更換衣服、洗澡、更換尿片、轉換姿勢或協助社康護士換症時,觀察院友的皮膚狀況,特別是身體受壓的部位。如發現皮膚變紅或破損,應增加姿勢轉換的次數及作適當的傷口處理。準確的傷口評估與記錄,有助監察及掌握患者之傷口復原情況。評估範疇包括受傷的原因及病歷、傷口的位置、狀況(顏色、大小、深度、滲液及感染徵狀)、疼痛程度及患者的營養狀況。建議每1至2週評估1次。若發現傷口受感染,應儘早延醫診治。

常用之清洗劑及敷料

生理鹽水( 0.9 % NaCl )是常用的清洗劑,它與人類的體液濃度相近,不刺激傷口組織及較少引起痛楚。 而消毒劑可能會刺激傷口或引致過敏反應。

一般沒有細菌感染的傷口,可使用生理鹽水清洗,不需使用消毒劑 。若傷口受細菌感染,則應按醫生指示處理。

一般使用之敷料包括:

紗布: 可吸收滲液。
透明薄膜式敷料: 透明半通透性之敷料,具透氣、防菌及防水之作用。
透明薄膜式敷料: 能軟化黃色腐肉,把壞死的組織除去;可吸收滲液,移除時不會黏著傷口基部;可減少換藥次數。
抗菌性敷料: 具殺菌能力,須由醫生處方。

洗傷口程序(換症程序)

換症前的準備

- 在換症前的2小時內應儘量避免掃地、抹塵等工作。
- 保持光線充足。
- 已消毒妥當的換症車(先用洗潔精及水清洗,然後再用70%火酒消毒)。
- 物料:可選用用完即棄的換症包(包括無菌症巾、鉗子、盛器、棉花球、及紗布等)、清洗劑(依據醫生指示)、口罩及手套(需要時)、污敷料袋、繃帶、膠布及剪刀。
- 安排患者於舒適的位置,以方便換症,並要保障患者私隱及避免著涼。
- 換症前用梘液徹底清潔雙手。

無菌技術的換症方法

- 開啟無菌換症包及排好鉗子。
- 將適量清洗劑倒進盛器內。
- 用鉗子將舊敷料除去(若換症包內只有兩隻膠鉗,可戴上即用即棄的膠手套,把舊敷料除去)。
- 如果敷料與傷口黏連,先將外層敷料除去,再用生理鹽水將內層敷料浸濕後揭去。
- 用過的鉗子和舊敷料應放在污敷料袋內。
- 用另外兩隻膠鉗清洗傷口和處理無菌敷料。
- 用鉗夾起沾了適量清洗劑的棉球,由內而外抹拭傷口,每粒棉球只用1次,不斷重複此步驟,直至傷口清潔為止。
- 用紗布將傷口輕力印乾。
- 蓋上無菌敷料,用膠布或繃帶適當地固定敷料。
- 注意整個過程,不要用手觸碰消毒敷料或傷口,以免傷口受污染。

換症的善後工作

- 將所有用完即棄物品放在膠袋內紮緊,並放進垃圾箱內。
- 換症後必須用梘液把雙手徹底清潔。
- 把傷口的情況記錄於安老院院友個人健康記錄內。

請按觀看「居家安全:傷口的護理」
短片(廣東話旁白配以繁體版字幕)

請在下載短片的文字內容。